Research Paper Volume 11, Issue 22 pp 10100—10115

Decreased inter-hemispheric interactions but increased intra-hemispheric integration during typical aging

Figure 1. The group-level community structure. The default mode network (DMN) is divided into four major subdivisions: superior temporal cortex and medial temporal cortex (DMN1); precuneus, posterior cingulate cortex and lateral parietal cortex (DMN2); dorsal medial prefrontal cortex (DMN3); and ventral medial prefrontal cortex and lateral temporal cortex (DMN4). The remaining networks include the sensorimotor network (SMN), auditory network (AN), salience network (SN), visual network (VN), dorsal attention network (DAN), ventral attention network (VAN) and fronto-parietal network (FPN).